Biblioguías
Books are documents that systematize available and consolidated knowledge. There are several types:
Handbooks synthesize knowledge available on a given subject or discipline and can serve as introductory texts.
Monographs are
Compilations are
- the source document: complete compilation work with the names of the coordinator/s or editor
- part documents: chapters or contributions by individual authors [within a larger publication].
Reference works facilitate rapid consultation of summarized information on a subject or concept. As the name indicates, such documents are for rapid consultation to gain clarity on a specific query. The common types are:
Engineering encyclopaedias are often very detailed and provide excellent introductions to a subject.
Essential sources for understanding specialized terms
Use the Almena catalog indexes to search for printed and electronic books available at BUVa.
In addition to the Almena catalog, users can search for e-books directly in BUVa’s outsourced e-book collections.
Library catalogues only index source documents: books, journals, conferences.
Part documents (chapters, articles, papers, other communications) are NOT indexed in library catalogues.
However, searches in Almena can be expanded to other information sources and part documents can be retrieved through the global search:
A Dictionary of Forestry Por
For journalists, attorneys, and others who interact with foresters worldwide, this reference to some 4,500 terms used in the broad field of forest science, management, and conservation should be useful.
Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences Por
A combination of broad disciplinary coverage and scientific excellence, the Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences will be an indispensable addition to the library of anyone interested in forests, forestry and forest sciences. Packed with valuable insights from experts all over the world, this remarkable set not only summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, but also thoroughly covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry. The Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Valuable key features further enhance the utility of this Encyclopedia as an exceptional reference tool. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. Edited and written by a distinguished group of editors and contributors Well-organized encyclopedic format provides concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references Illustrative tables, figures, and photographs in every entry, produced in full color Comprehensive glossary defines new and important terms Complete, up-to-date coverage of over 60 areas of forest sciences - sure to be of interest to scientists, students, and professionals alike! Editor-in-Chief is the past president of the International Union of Forestry Research Organizations, the oldest international collaborative forestry research organization with over 15,000 scientists from 100 countries
Iconos diseñados por Freepik desde www.flaticon.com con licencia CC 3.0 BY
Biblioteca de la Universidad de Valladolid. licencia de Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional.