Biblioguías: Guide to Forestry: Databases

About databases

In this section we look at reference databases that collect, describe, classify and analyse the universal bibliography of certain fields of knowledge.

These databases contain indexes or bibliographies that include references or descriptions of documents, including journal articles, books, parts of books, papers, patents, standards or guidelines, etc.

Access to full texts is only provided for open access documents or those BUVa subscribes to.

Where find databases in BUVa?

Library users can search the BUVa reference databases through the Almena Catalog indexes.

If you know the exact title or the first few words of it, search the title index
If you know the author's surname, search the author index
If you know only a few terms, do a word search

Additionally, databases can be searched directly in the BUVa collection of outsourced databases

BUVa Databases Databases subscribed to by the BUVa. Searchable by subject, provider and type.

BUVa reference databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection‎ Within the Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection . Bibliographic database of references to agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its collaborators. Records describe publications and resources covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, including zoology and veterinary science, entomology, botany, forestry, aquaculture and fish farming, agriculture and farming systems, agricultural science, extension and education, food and human nutrition, earth and environmental science. Bibliographical references
Biological Science Database This database provides access to a wide range of biology-related topics, including some of the most popular information resources for users in academia, government and public research capacities
CAB Abstract Produced by CABI Publishing, covers agriculture, food, forestry and other life-sciences such as veterinary medicine, human nutrition and agricultural development. This database contains 4 million records from more than 11,000 journals, books, reports, conferences, etc., spanning from 1973 to the present. It also covers information offered in AGECONCD, BEASTCD, CROPCD, FORESTRY ABSTRACTS and TREECD.

ÍnDICEs CSIC ÍnDICEs CSIC is composed of several databases: ISOC: Social Sciences (since 1975), IME: Medicine (since 1971) and ICYT: Science and Technology (since 1979), which collect bibliographic references for articles published in more than 2,300 journals in Spain. CIRBICL: book catalogue, and CIRBICR: journal catalogue. Full text Bibliographic references Journals
Proquest Central Collection of databases grouped into the following subject areas: Arts, Social Sciences, Science and Technology, Economics and Business, History, Language and Literature, News and Periodicals, Health and Medicine, Doctoral Theses and Dissertations. Proquest contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global (business administration and economics), AGRICOLA (agriculture), Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (architecture, archaeology), International Bibliography of Art (IBA), ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (doctoral thesis citations), LiOn Literature Online (English and American literature), Periodicals Archive Online (arts, humanities and social sciences) and Periodicals Index Online (arts, humanities and social sciences), Art & Architecture Archive (art and architecture).
Scopus Scopus is the most extensive citation database, with more than 21,500 peer-reviewed academic journals, 4,200 of which are open access, and over 120,000 commercial publications. It also contains books, 7.2 million conference papers from over 88,800 worldwide events and 27 million patents published by five patent offices in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities from 1996 onwards. This platform also provides access to the full text of articles from electronic journals subscribed to by the University.
Access Scopus from outside the UVa domain
Web of Science (WoS) fully indexed and cross-searchable database containing 100 years of research in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Access to more than 12,000 high-impact international journals, including open-access journals and more than 150,000 conference proceedings. Includes Web of Science (Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index) and Medline.
Access WoS from outside the UVa domain

Impact indices of scientific journals based on analysis of citations of the articles published in them.

Journal Citation Reports . Citation analysis reports for evaluation and comparison of academic journals in the sciences and social sciences. Access through the Web of Science . Impact assessment
Journal metrics Scopus CiteScore is a simple metric that calculates the average number of citations received for all documents published in the three years prior to the metric date. It is updated annually and percentiles are also presented
SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR) SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a journal and country ranking portal based on information contained in the Scopus Database (Elsevier). Free access Impact assessment

Open access Databases

IPNI (International Plant Names Index) Database of plant, seed, fern and lycophyte names, with associated bibliographic data
Plant Variety Database Database of plant varieties registered in the European Union
FAOSTAT-Forestal Forestal FAO forest production and trade statistics
SIDALC. Alliance of Agricultural Information Services Database of the Agricultural Information and Documentation System of Latin America and the Caribbean (SIDALC), which seeks to facilitate access to full-text and reference information in forestry sciences.
FOREST EXPLORER : The forests of Spain at just one click The forests of Spain at just one click Web application for easy browsing of forest inventories and Iberian forest maps. It contains the third edition of the Spanish National Forest Inventory (IFN) and summarized information for the Portuguese Forest Inventory, on a cartographic base that includes the information of the Spanish Forest Map and the Portuguese Land Use Map.

Research data

UVaDOC Datasets Datasets housed in the UVaDOC repository
IUFORdata Data tool for management of natural resources and forest ecosystems of the University Institute for Research in Sustainable Forest Management (IUFOR).