Biblioguías
Almena is the University of Valladolid Library (BUVa) catalog. It contains detailed information about the library’s bibliographic collections, including:
The BUVa catalog contains bibliographic information on scientific documents for your studies that have been selected according to quality criteria developed by teachers, researchers and librarians. Entries include a brief description, location, access information, availability for loan, etc.
This basic search tool for qualified scientific literature contains information that does not appear in internet search engine indexes.
It should always be your first search tool.
UVaDOC is organized by areas:
Databases collect, describe, classify and analyse core literature in a given field of knowledge.
Some are indexes or bibliographies that give a reference number or description of the documents (articles, chapters, papers and conferences, patents, etc.). These contain links to full documents that are free online, have been published in open access or are included in BUVa subscriptions.
Others contain indexed collections of journals, books and other full-text documents to facilitate in-document searches.
Each database entry describes a specific document: a journal article, a book, section of a book, a paper, a patent, a standard, ...
When searching for specific information, choose the most appropriate database by subject matter and type of contents.
The BUVa Biblioguides offer the most relevant information services and resources, organized by subject areas or specific topics.
Subject Guides provide access to subject-specific resources subscribed to by the library or freely available on the Internet.
The UVa Library offers a new search tool to assist with subject-related bibliographies recommended by professors.
This online application integrates course bibliographies and recommended reading with the library collections to offer the user information about documents the library has access to on a given subject, location, availability, format, etc.
General search engines (Google, Bing, Ask, ...) are useful for orientation on a subject, specific data, current affairs, company information, government data, etc.
However, they are not specialized enough for locating scientific information online. A great deal of valuable scientific information is found on the deep web.
Accessing scientific literature and in-depth information requires specific search tools and information sources:
When recurring to general search engines for academic or research purposes, use the advanced search interface and filter the results to ensure that the information retrieved is reliable and credible.
Academic search engines can automatically index web pages by filtering reliable information for academic environments.
They are less rigorous than databases and portals for academic papers.
The most extensive and exhaustive search engine for academic information is Google Scholar.
Google Scholar collects vast information from extremely diverse types of documents and content:
Alerts can also be created for most databases (search alerts, news related to a topic, author or institution). This function usually requires user registration.
Iconos diseñados por Freepik desde www.flaticon.com con licencia CC 3.0 BY
Biblioteca de la Universidad de Valladolid. licencia de Creative Commons Reconocimiento-NoComercial-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional.